South Dakota’s Clean Indoor Air Law went into effect on July 1, 2002, after governor Bill Janklow signed it into law. This law state where smoking is prohibited in the state of South Dakota and where it is legally permitted, as well as the penalties for violating this law. Smokers should become aware of the South Dakota Clean Indoor Air Law in order to avoid any penalties that they could receive from smoking where it is strictly prohibited. Even though South Dakota does not have a high number of adults who smoke, in fact only about 20% of the adults in this state are smokers. But, before this Clean Indoor Air Law went into effect, more than 40% of the people who worked in enclosed areas were working where smoking was permitted, exposing them to hours of inhaling second-hand smoke. Not the best environment for workers, but a good reason to pass a smoke-free ban.
The first thing smokers in South Dakota should be aware of are the places that smoking is prohibited, because knowing this will help them avoid any penalties they may incur from violating this law meant to protect people from second-hand smoke. The locations where smoking is prohibited in South Dakota are public places, government buildings, private workplaces, child care centers, health care facilities and restaurants. Basically, smoking is prohibited anywhere the public is welcome to enter or is being served a product such as food.
Now that smokers in South Dakota are aware of where it is not permitted to smoke, there are a few areas that are listed as places where smoking is permitted. These are private homes that are not used as a child care or health care center, restaurants that carry a liquor license or other establishments that serve alcohol such as bars. Liquor stores and video lottery and gaming establishments are also locations where smoking is permitted. Hotels and motels are allowed to have designated smoking guest rooms, but all common areas of the establishment, such as hallways, elevators and lobbies must remain smoke-free. Outdoor areas of any establishment may be designated smoking areas as long as the second-hand smoke does not enter into on area where smoking is prohibited.
Smokers who violate the South Dakota Clean Indoor Air Law do not face penalties that are as stiff as violating these types of acts or laws in other states. Penalties for violating this law are petty offenses and are punishable by fines of up to $20 per offense. These fines can be avoided by simply not smoking where smoking is prohibited.
Smokers in the state of South Dakota who choose to avoid paying a fine should become familiar with the Clean Indoor Air Law which clearly states where smoking is banned and where it is not. Simply put, a little research can save you money even if it is only $20 per violation.